

September 17, 2007

Dear Member of Congress:

On behalf of millions of taxpayers, we request that Congress promptly extend the Internet Tax Freedom Act before it expires on November 1, 2007. If the moratorium is allowed to lapse, American taxpayers could be exposed to countless new and onerous taxes from states and municipalities simply for accessing the Internet.

Since 1998, Congress has ensured that Internet access is not subject to either state and local taxes or multiple and discriminatory taxes on Internet commerce, regardless of the technology consumers use to access the Internet. With the moratorium's expiration rapidly approaching, it is imperative that Congress continue to prohibit Internet access taxes and multiple and discriminatory taxes on electronic commerce.

The Internet prospers today as the result of unshackled innovation and technological growth unfettered by government taxation or regulation. Although policies up to this point have temporarily put a hold on government interference, passing a permanent ban on Internet taxation would send a signal that the Internet is open for further growth and development.

Taxing access and Internet activities would not only hinder the expansion of technology that fuels our modern economy, but it would also rebuild communication barriers among families, hamper growing businesses, and negatively impact our lives in countless ways. The U.S. cannot afford to open the free Internet market to taxation. The time of temporary moratorium has passed. Once again we, the undersigned groups, urge you to co-sponsor and work to pass S. 156 and H.R. 743 which would permanently extend the federal moratorium on Internet access taxes.

Sincerely,

Barbaro Antor

Barbara Anderson Executive Director Citizens for Limited Taxation

A ora

John Berthoud President National Taxpayers Union

Engry Sonkuli

Greg Blankenship President Illinois Policy Institute

Chris Derry President Bluegrass Institute

Leon P. Diolet

Leon Drolet Executive Director Michigan Taxpayers Alliance

Ryan Ellis

Ryan Ellis Executive Director American Shareholders Association

Richard Falknor Executive Vice-President Maryland Taxpayers Association, Inc.

Jolin & Kaume

Colin A. Hanna President Let Freedom Ring, Inc.

Thomas C. Houfling

Tom Hoefling President Idahoans for Tax Reform

,195th

Derek Hunter Executive Director Media Freedom Project

Kinkey K-

Kimberly Kuo Executive Director MyWireless.org

David A. Keene Chairman The American Conservative Union

Matt Kibbe President FreedomWorks

Thomas P. Kilgannon President Freedom Alliance

This Knikie

Phil Krinkie President Taxpayers League of Minnesota

Aris Zilik

Chris Lilik Young Conservatives of Pennsylvania

Jeffrey Mazzella President Center for Individual Freedom

John Me Chan

John McClaughry President Ethan Allen Institute

Lon Million

Tom McClusky Vice President of Government Affairs Family Research Council

Bill McMaster State Chairman Taxpayers United Michigan Foundation

Il ant

Chuck Muth President Citizen Outreach

41

Grover Norquist President Americans for Tax Reform

Vin Chillips

Tim Phillips President Americans for Prosperity

C. Prestor Nad 2

C. Preston Noell III President Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

And F. dil

Andrew Quinlan President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Amy Ridenour

Amy Ridenour Vice Chairman Americans for the Preservation of Liberty

Lorikonan

Lori Roman Executive Director American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC)

Ralland

Richard O. Rowland President Grassroot Institute of Hawaii

Thomas Schatz

Thomas A. Schatz President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

unt Smith

Curt Smith President Indiana Family Institute

Fred Lee Smith of

Fred L. Smith, Jr. President Competitive Enterprise Institute

Var Jormen

Pat Toomey President The Club for Growth

Mederbill

Mead Treadwell Alaskans for Tax Reform

Ate Voelle

Steve Voeller President Arizona Free Enterprise Club

Mark Warden President Budget Watch Nevada

Paul M. Weyrich National Chairman Coalitions for America

Jason Williams Executive Director Taxpayers Association of Oregon

Jason Wright President Institute for Liberty Internet Freedom Coalition